It’s been fun…

I’m still visiting family, an issue with our car left us up here a little longer than we’d originally planned.  It isn’t too bad though, my father enjoys having me here, I’ve been in touch with a lot of friends and family over the course of the last few weeks so it’s been nice to catch up on things.  I’ve spent a lot of time with Lucy, I met up with Colin and his new baby boy (too damn cute).  I’m itching to get in touch with my friend Pat but he’s currently on tour and hasn’t really been in town.  His band, Stealing Jane, is doing very well right now.

I’m actively searching for a job up here.  I love Delaware but New York is really the place for me.  I was born here, raised here, and have so many things going on up here that I really don’t want to leave.  I truly appreciate everything that I have in Delaware, it’s just not “home” for me.  So I’ve gone through every job related website; Monster, HotJobs, CareerBuilder, SnagAJob, Craigslist – you name it, I’ve been to it.  I’ve put in applications for companies located everywhere from New York City to very fart out East on Long Island.  I haven’t gotten any phone calls yet, but I’m hoping to hear something soon.

I have some pretty big plans, but they all require a very solid income.  In order to live in New York (in your own apartment, utilities, food, whatever) you need to make at least $40,000 a year to have some kind of a savings account being maintained as well.  I’m not really too keen on living paycheck to paycheck so making anything from $40,000 a year, and up, is the route that I’m looking to take.

I’m putting in an application with Human Resources at the local hospital.  My father works there ,most of my family is employed there, and my Mom worked there for many years so they kind of know us.  I’ve also put in applications at a few different companies around here, mainly part-time kind of BS work but that would give me enough money so I can put some into a car.  I believe I’ll be moving first and then Sean is going to come up later on.  With this, I’m going to need my own means of transportation and with car insurance, and car payments, plus my other bills I figure about $700 a month in bills going out to cover everything.  A part time job of about $200 a week should be able to cover that.  After that, I can still push the applications to higher paying jobs and continue with part-time work on the weekends so I can bring in some extra money to handle food and making sure Bella is OK with her vet checkups and food as well.

It’s a big deal, a very big deal.  I’ll stay with my father until I can handle being out on my own.  After that I’m really not sure of what I’ll need to do to maintain it after the 40-hour work week but damn am I going to give it all I’ve got.  I put it many applications down in Delaware, for jobs all over Sussex County but I’ve been unable to hear anything, even for the stupid $7 an hour part-time retail work.  It’s pretty damn annoying.

In any event, I need to float around on some sites and put in some more applications.

: crosses fingers :

Krissy

A thirty-something code ninja + web diva. Former New Yorker who's passionate about web development, HTML/CSS, beautifying things and marketing.

More from this author

1 comment

  1. I’m planning on animation in an flat in a small town around a university. I know there are many primal factors that will create the cost variegate. I’m planning on aliveness in a 2 bedroom apartment with 2 other people. How much on average will it cost rigorously utilities? And what are the normal utilities that are included in the price of an apartment?

Comments are closed.